Data Monitoring and Ethics Committee composition

Independent chairperson Dr Hugh Gilmour, Consultant Pathologist, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.

Independent statistician Professor Marion Campbell, Director, Health Services Research Unit,

University of Aberdeen.

Patient representative Mr David Kirby, Oesophageal Patients Association, www.opa.org.uk.

Trial Steering Committee composition

Independent chairperson Dr Robert Heading, Consultant Gastroenterologist, Royal Infirmary

of Edinburgh.

Independent member Professor Antoon Lerut, Consultant Surgeon, University Hospital

Gasthuisberg, Leuven, Belgium.

COGNATE investigator Mr Grant Fullarton, Consultant Surgeon, Western Infirmary Glasgow.

COGNATE investigator Dr Shona Campbell, Consultant Radiologist, Leicester Royal Infirmary.

Chief investigator Professor Ian Russell, Swansea and Bangor Universities.

Chief investigator Professor Kenneth Park, Consultant Surgeon, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary.

Trial statistician Dr Daphne Russell, Swansea and Bangor Universities.

Trial manager Ms Ceri Bray then Dr Angela Gliddon, NWORTH, Bangor University.

Co-opted investigator Mr Stephen Attwood, Consultant Surgeon, Northumbria Healthcare

Foundation NHS Trust.

(Together with all members of the DMEC.)

Trial Management Team

Chief investigator Professor Ian Russell, Swansea and Bangor Universities.

Chief investigator Professor Kenneth Park, Consultant Surgeon, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary.

Trial statistician Dr Daphne Russell, Swansea and Bangor Universities.

Trial manager Ms Ceri Bray then Dr Angela Gliddon, NWORTH, Bangor University.

Trial data manager Ms Rhiannon Whitaker then Dr Angela Gliddon, NWORTH,

Bangor University.

Outcome specialists Dr David Ingledew, School of Psychology, and Ms Rhiannon Whitaker,

NWORTH, Bangor University.

Health economists Professor Rhiannon Tudor Edwards and Ms Seow Tien Yeo, Centre for

Health Economics and Medicines Evaluation, Bangor University.

IT specialist Mr Kevin Mawdsley, NWORTH, Bangor University.